What is the Classe Mini?

Octobre, 8th 1977, Penzance (United Kingdom), 24 21 feet saling boats sail off with only one skipper aboard to Antigua via Tenerife (Canary islands)...

The smallest offshore racing boats were born and so was their favourite race: the Mini Transat. Every odd year, they would meet on their favourite playground: the Atlantic Ocean.

Every year, French sailors are getting more and more numerous.

The or-ganization has thus finally crossed the English Channel. In 1984, Jean-Luc Garnier, journalist passionately fond of these mini «racing boats» took over Brit Bob Salmon who wished to quit after having organized four editions. «Voiles 6,50» an unprofit making association affiliated to the French Sailing Federation has then been created and organized the Mini-Fastnet, an annual race leaving Brittany to the Irish Rock and back. A new birth was given to the Minis.

In 1985, the Mini Transat started and arrived in France, from Brest to Pointe-à-Pître with a stopover in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Counterpart of the Mini-Fastnet in the Mediterranean sea, the Mini Max was created in1986. In 1988 a new race has come to supplement the calendar, the «Transgascogne» starting from Port Bourgenay. In 1991, Dominic Bourgeois and Loïc Ponceau have created the «Challenge Mini» so that skippers can meet every year.

In 1994, «Voiles 6,50» has been divided in two different structures, sepa-rating the Race Organization (Cap Transat) and the sporting management (Classe Mini). The same year, the Italians who were getting more and more numerous, have created their own class, in association with the French Classe Mini that keeps all the responsibility regarding the rules.

In 1998, Cap Transat did not wish to organize anymore the Mini Transat. The Classe Mini has then delegated the organization of its main event to independent organizers answering a bid and committing themselves in respecting the specicification defined by the Classe Mini.  

This procedure is now used with all the different organizers.

There has been a little revolution in 2001. The Mini Transat made an infidelity to the Caribbean islands after 12 arrivals, and crossed the equator line for the first time to arrive in Salvador de Bahia (Brazil). 

Nowadays, the Classe Mini gathers an average of 300 members, most of them competitors coming from all kind of professions, from the carpenter to the engineer, the nurse to the steward, the journalist to the professional skipper.

The Classe Mini is above all the association of all the persons fond of these wonderful little boats who want to share the great surfs, the budget problems, the days waiting for the wind and all the moments of happiness that the Ocean gives us.

Download : [pdf] STATUTS / ARTICLES (334,92 ko)

The Board of Administrators


How does it work?

The board of administrators is made of 11 volunteers, most of them competitors or former competitors.

Members elect them during the General Assembly. With the passing of the years, this council tries to make the Minis safer without losing the attractive and inovative side of the boats.

To achieve that, rules are modified to answer the questions asked during the General Assembly as well as during the entire year.

The Board of Administrators contributes to the dynamics of the Classe in France as much as in foreign countries. Every year, the races program is getting more and more important to make a coherent calendar but also to hustle the habits and attract new competitors.


The administrators of the Classe Mini in 2022

Le Bureau

Présidente : Amélie GRASSI

Vice-Président : Antoine PERRIN

Secrétaire : Djemila TASSIN

Trésorière : Marie GENDRON

Responsable RH :  Jean MARRE


Les Administrateurs

Patrick JAFFRE - Gaël LEDOUX - Marine LEGENDRE - Anne LIARDET - Aurélien POISSON - Simon TRANVOUEZ


Les Suppléants

Jean-Marie JEZEQUEL - Pierre LE ROY - Pierre MOIZAN

The Committees


Classe Mini Board of directors is divided into 5 committees since 2021. These are constituted by affinities. Each administrator chooses the committee(s) in which he/she wishes to commit. The President and the Vice-president are automatically in all the committees.


The Technical committee proposes the changes of rules. It also is the only one authorized to interpret the texts.

Members of the 2022 technical committee are: Patrick JAFFRE (rapporteur), Marie GENDRON, Gaël LEDOUX, Aurélien POISSON, Simon TRANVOUEZ, Jean-Marie JEZEQUEL, Antoine PERRIN, Amélie GRASSI
Consulting: Joël Gâté


Qualifying committee ensures the follow-up and the evaluation of the qualification courses. It also decides on the requests regarding the qualifications of the members.

Members of the 2022 qualification committee are: Djemila TASSIN (rapporteur), Gaël LEDOUX, MArine LEGENDRE, Anne LIARDET, Jean MARRE, Aurélien POISSON, Jean-MArie JEZEQUEL, Pierre LE ROY, Antoine PERRIN, Amélie GRASSI


The races / calendar committee is in charge of the development of the races calendar for the following year and communication with the differnet orgaizers. It also establishes the agreements with organizers.

Members of the 2022 races committee are : Marine LEGENDRE (rapporteur), MArie GENDRON, Jean MARRE, Djemila TASSIN, Simon TRANVOUEZ, Antoine PERRIN, Amélie GRASSI


The Communication committee establishes a communication plan towards the members and/or others.

Members of the 2022 communication committe are: Jean MARRE (rapporteur), Anne LIARDET, Pierre LE ROY, Antoine PERRIN, Amélie GRASSI




The sustainable development committee. Unlike the 4 other committees, it is not constituted with members of the Board but with any motivated person (member of the Association or not) and having ideas to combine our activity and respect for the environment. This committee is a source of proposals for the Board of Directors.

Representatives of the Board of DIrectors within the Sustainable Development committee in 2022: Marie GENDRON, Gaël LEDOUX, Jean MARRE, Antoine PERRIN, Amélie GRASS